The NHTSA 5-Star Safety Rating Program, What Does It Mean?

posted in: Car Tips, Safety | 0


airbags front & side
What is the 5-Star Safety Rating Program?

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has been the ultimate voice in vehicle safety for decades, with their 5-Star Safety Rating Program adapting over the years to rate the effectiveness of new and ever-evolving safety technology.


The 5-Star Safety Rating Program evaluates the results from both front and side crash tests, and unlike many other institutions, the NHTSA also evaluates how the people inside of a car would fare in the event of a rollover. This serves to offer a more comprehensive look at vehicle safety that analyzes every important perspective.


It is these scores together that add up to a vehicle’s comprehensive safety score, earning it anywhere from 1 (the worst) to 5 (the best). If a vehicle earns 4 stars – or, better yet, 5 stars – you can bet that it is one of the safest models on the road.


The NHTSA also offers higher scores to vehicles with additional safety features, such as rearview cameras, Forward Collision Warning, and Lane Departure Warning. Ultimately, these ratings are given to improve your chances of choosing the safest car possible.


For more information on the NTHSA safety ratings, or to check out one of our many available vehicles that scored highly in their safety program, contact us or visit us anytime at Hatfield Buick GMC.

Leave a Reply